About the Ocean Frontier Institute
The Ocean Frontier Institute (OFI) was established in September 2015 as a global leader for innovative ocean research.


The Ocean Frontier Institute (OFI) was established in 2015 as a global leader for innovative ocean research.

OFI is designed to bring together groups of Canadian researchers to tackle complex ocean challenges.

Research is focused on three key areas: achieving net zero, protecting biodiversity, and sustaining bioresources.

Governance / Institutional Partnerships

Ocean Frontier Institute Led by Dalhousie University
Safe and Sustainable Development of the Ocean Frontier
Transform Climate Action
Centre of Excellence in Observational Oceanography
Ocean School
North Atlantic Carbon Observatory
Canadian Ocean Literacy Coalition *
Institutional partners
Founding Partner
Advisory committees
Indigenous Engagement in Ocean Research
Excellence, Impact and Engagement
* Based administratively at OFI/Dal

Advisory Committee on Indigenous Engagement in Ocean Research

This committee guides OFI’s engagement with Indigenous communities and organizations to help ensure strong linkages and meaningful engagement between Indigenous communities and organizations and other ocean organizations in Atlantic Canada, while recognizing global aspects and impact on OFI’s international collaborations and partnerships.

The Committee will work with OFI staff and the research community to help ensure the active incorporation of Indigenous interests and protection of Aboriginal and Treaty rights into coastal and ocean research to foster meaningful collaboration with Indigenous communities.

Advisory Committee on Indigenous Engagement in Ocean Research members

  • Shelley Denny
    Director of Aquatic Research and Stewardship, Unama'ki Institute of Natural Resources
  • Angeline (Angie) Gillis
    Associate Executive Director, Confederacy of Mainland Mi'kmaq
  • Cathy Martin
    Director of Indigenous Community Engagement, Dalhousie
  • Corey Morris
    Appointee, DFO, Canada
  • Melissa Nevin
    Appointee, Atlantic Policy Congress of the First Nations Chiefs Secretariat
  • Paul Snelgrove
    Associate Scientific Director, Ocean Frontier Institute
  • Alanna Syliboy
    Mi’kmaw Knowledge and Community Engagement Manager, Confederacy of Mainland Mi'kmaq
  • Anya Waite
    OFI CEO & Scientific Director, Dalhousie University Associate Vice-President Research (Ocean)
  • Paul Banahene Adjei
    Interim Associate Vice-President (Indigenous Research) at Memorial University
  • Jean-Francois Bousquet
    Transforming Climate Action Associate Scientific Director, Dalhousie University
  • Mike Nester
    Qikiqtani Inuit Association
  • John Vicaire
    Listuguj Mi'gmaq Government
  • Ken Paul
    Canada's Ocean Supercluster

Excellence, Impact, and Engagement Committee

The Excellence, Impact, and Engagement Committee is comprised of representatives from various partners and stakeholder groups to advise OFI on strategy, including the strategic research focus of OFI activities as well as the alignment and progress of these activities towards the mission, goals, and deliverables of the OFI.  

The core values promoted by this Committee are engagement with stakeholders and partners, impact of research outcomes, scientific excellence of research, knowledge mobilization, internationalization, and operational efficiency.

Excellence, Impact, and Engagement Committee members

  • John Risley (Chair)
    Chair and Chief Executive Officer, CFFI Ventures
  • Peter de Menocal
    President and Director, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
  • Marc D'Iorio
    Assistant Deputy Minister, Science and Technology Branch, Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Heide Hackmann
    Interim Director, Future Africa and Strategic Advisor on Transdisciplinarity and Global Knowledge Networks at the University of Pretoria
  • Ed Hill
    Chief Executive, National Oceanography Centre
  • Mark Jollymore
    President, Innovasea Systems, Inc.
  • Katja Matthes
    Professor, Atmospheric Physics, GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel and Christian-Albrechts Universität zu Kiel
  • Arran McPherson (Observer)
    Assistant Deputy Minister, Ecosystems and Oceans Science, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • David Paterson
    Executive Director, Marine Alliance for Science and Technology Scotland
  • Jake Rice
    Chief Scientist Emeritus, Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Alanna Syliboy
    Community, Education and Engagement Manager, Confederacy of Mainland Mi’kmaq, Department of Aquatic Resources and Fisheries Management
  • Julie Pullen
    Partner with Propeller Ventures
  • Anya Waite
    OFI Chief Executive Officer and Scientific Director
  • Paul Snelgrove
    OFI Associate Scientific Director
  • Kim Thomson
    OFI Chief Administrative Officer
  • Eric Siegel
    OFI Chief Innovation Officer